News & Reviews

DIDPL Author:Samir Doshi   Posted On:2019-04-29


The second edition of the DI Darts Premier league was a bigger, better and smarter version of the 1st edition held in 2018.

Eight teams - The Dazzlers, Barganza All Stars, City Knights, Bull Eyes, Sharp Shooters, Royal Super Knights , Warriors and Darts Royale fiercely competed with each for over a week. 

In the IPL style format all teams had to play each other once and the top four teams moved to the qualifiers. Post the qualifier the top two teams played the final.

Right from day one most teams played to their potential and unofficial ranking with not too many upsets.

Team Dazzlers considered to be favourites from day one played to form and easily won most of the games. Team Captain Manisha Srivastava even scored one of the highest check outs in recent years in India- a whopping 157 which remained unbeaten through the tournament. 

Captain of the Royal Super Knights Devesh Srivastava had the tournaments highest score of 180. A great achievement.

The surprise of the tournament was Team Bull Eyes led by Biswa Chanda, MIC Darts. A rookie team with three players below 18 years of age they managed to reach the qualifiers.  A super effort when they were up against the best players of the club.

The final between Barganza All Stars and Dazzlers was a real cliff hanger and a final that one would dream of. It went right down to the last game and could have been anyone's game till young Rainab Agarwal stepped up  for the Dazzlers and closed the final for them. Barganza All Stars led by Avi one of the best players in the circuit fought it out right till the end but were just pipped to the winning post. 

The Club discovered a lot of hidden talent  through the tournament, both young and older members. 

Large crowds turned out everyday to cheer the teams making this a hugely successful tournament. 

Congratulations to all the teams, team owners, the Darts vertical and members for making this such a great event.


DIDPL 2019 Champions - The Dazzlers