Activity Reviews

In the Media

Sports Reviews

Kids Events


News & Reviews

  • Home
  • >
  • News & Reviews
  • >
  •  DI shines at BRC Inter-Club Carnival

DI shines at BRC Inter-Club Carnival Author:Samir Dosh   Posted On:2017-12-21


One of the most awaited sports events in Kolkata is the BRC Inter Club carnival. It is also one of the largest sporting events in the city and this year there were 13 clubs that took part across 11 disciplines with about 1000 participants.

The Dalhousie Institute  has been participating in the BRC Carnival since its inception in 1998. The 2017 carnival has been the best ever for DI and in a sense also a historic one since DI beat 11 other clubs to be the overall Runners Up! At one point of time in the carnival, which was spread out over a week, 10th December to 17th December, we were right up on the points table with the host club BRC who just managed to pip us to win the championship.

Many, many congratulations to all our players for putting up this superlative performance! The club and all its members take  immense pride in your achievement.

This year DI took part in all  11 disciplines which included indoor rowing and chess. This was the first time that DI put up teams for these events. 

DI came first in Futsal and Poker (Poker team winning for the second time after the SatC Carnival). We were runners up in Pool and Indoor Rowing and made it to the semi finals in Darts, Badminton and Table Tennis.

Our teams had participants right across age groups with the youngest being 12 years old and the oldest nearing 60 years! It was wonderful to see how enthusiastically members came out to play for the Club.

We caught up with some of our champions and asked them to share their thoughts on how it felt to be playing and winning for the club.

Patrick Quinn, the Pool and Snooker team captain said "It is great to play for DI and to see the bonding and friendship between both the youngsters and the senior members. We would always give our best to the club and win more laurels going ahead".

Tejas Gulati, who just turned 18 and was  part of the Badminton team says "It has been 4 years since I have been playing for the club and every year has been a great experience! Winning for DI gives me great pleasure and will give my best for my team to see it shine".

Javed Ansar, our Futsal Captain feels  "A great honour in playing for the club for so many years and it always feels that much more special when you win a tournament". 

Members of the sports committee are elated at this performance and feel that "Going ahead we can achieve even bigger triumphs. More sustained participation and result oriented coaching programmes in the club will help us do better and better. DI has always had a very vibrant sports culture and going ahead in the future we would look forward to more and more members and their children coming out to play. We have a good structure in place with the respective Conveners, MICs and Member sports committees who can be reached out to by all our members".

Once again many, many Congratulations to all our players who made the club so proud!

The members who represented the club are: 

Futsal- Javed Ansar, Sanjay Dutta, Edward Kong, Alan Sweeney, Rayzad Bulsara, Tarik Ansar, Divyak Doshi, Shane Ireland and Sean Kennedy 

Poker- Kashif Humair, Moti Lal JIndal,Mohit Bharany,Mona Grewal,Gaurav Narsaria, Sanjiv Mehta, Manoj Chandgothia, Abhishek Kejriwal.

Indoor Rowing- Saba Ali Firoz, Sean Kennedy, Keegan Kennedy, Subhojit Kumar, Nishant Murlidharan and Raja.

Darts- Biswajit Chanda,  Vijay Singh, Avijit Dutta, Samir Sheth, Patrick Quinn, Rajesh Chandan, Sunaina Mitra, Sahana Agarwal, Saba Ali Firoz.

Snooker- Terence Mak, Arjun Bagga, Mark Gomes, Stafford Ireland,? Shane Ireland, Patrick Quinn

Pool- Patrick Quinn, Terence Mak, Arjun Bagga, Stafford Ireland, Garima Manglani, Shane Ireland, Raju Jagtiani.

Badminton- Jash Doshi, Tejas Gulati, Saba Ali Firoz, Gavin Wu, Chinmoy Basu, Samir Agarwal,Gaurav Narsaria,Sanjiv Mehta, Harshaihej Singh Chohan, Divya Birla, Rayzad Bulsara, Tanya Robinson, Bharat Doshi.

Cricket- Sanju Dutta,Raja, Sourav, Jash, Nishant, Divya,SK, Nitin.

Chess- Rituparna Sen, Soeb Lokhandwala, Tanush Siotia.

For images, visit